Major Success at First Major


RSPBA logo



Its official, ScottishPower Pipe Band are the new 2018 RSPBA Grade 1 British Pipe Band Champions!

In glorious conditions a total of 122 bands from all over the UK, Ireland and even as far as Denmark made their way to St James Park on the outskirts of Paisley to compete on Saturday 19th May in the first RSPBA Major Championship of the year.

This was the first Major win for the band under the direction of Pipe Major Chris Armstrong and Leading Drummer Jake Jorgensen.


Paisley Champs


For the Grade 1 contest it was the Medley discipline that was the order of the day and ScottishPower drew their No.2 Medley:


My Dream Valley on the Road to Glendaruel

Slainte Do Mhabu

The Boys of the Town

Lament for Mary Macleod

Duncan Lamont

The Guards Recital Series

Hanter Dro

Golden Brown


You can view our performance again by clicking on the link here. Thank you to Dronechrous for taking the time to record and post in such high quality all the bands competing in Grade 1 on the day.


The full Grade 1 prize list was as follows:

1st           ScottishPower                                Scotland                                                                

2nd          Inveraray & District                        Scotland

3rd           Field Marshall Montgomery           Northern Ireland                

4th           St Laurence O’Toole                      Ireland

5th           Boghall & Bathgate Caledonia       Scotland

6th           Police Scotland Fife                       Scotland         


The band are absolutely delighted with the result and now focus on maintaining and improving their standard for the next championship in Belfast next month.

They have been overwhelmed by all the messages of congratulations and support they have received from all over the world and would like to thank you all very much. Thank you!

Pictured below is Pipe Major Chris Armstrong receiving the winning trophy from Councilor Lorraine Cameron, Provost of Renfrewshire the Cheiftain of the day.

2018 British Championships